Christian Chivalry emphasizes social and moral virtues more generally, and the Code of Chivalry as it stood by the Late Middle Ages was a moral system, which combined a warrior ideology, Christian character and gallant manners, all conspiring to establish a notion of honor and nobility.  The “ancient code of chivalry” of the 11th and 12th centuries derived from the military ethos of the crusades which would emerge into the late medieval notion of chivalry. Gautier’s Ten Commandments of chivalry are as follows:

  1. Thou shalt believe all that the Church teaches and shalt observe all its directions.
  2. Thou shalt defend the Church.
  3. Thou shalt respect all weaknesses, and shalt constitute thyself the defender of them (Respect and defend the weak and persecuted).
  4. Thou shalt love the country in which thou wast born.
  5. Thou shalt not recoil before thine enemy.
  6. Thou shalt make war against the infidel without cessation and without mercy (Show no mercy to the infidel. Do not hesitate to make war with them).
  7. Thou shalt perform scrupulously thy feudal duties; if they be not contrary to the laws of God.
  8. Thou shalt never lie, and shalt remain faithful to thy pledged word.
  9. Thou shalt be generous, and give largesse to everyone.
  10. Thou shalt be everywhere and always the champion of the Right and the Good against Injustice and Evil.

As a Knight of Abyssinia, you are part of a vast and ever-growing fraternal society of individuals who are dedicated the the above principles and focused on the re-establishment of the Lost Tribes of Israel (The Remnant) throughout the world.

To apply: click here